Using Multiple Toners

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by H. G. Hart, Jul 9, 2005.

1. H. G. Hart

H. G. Hart Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    I am interested in using more than one toner on a single print. I remember reading (possibly in a post about platinum toning which I am unable to find) that the "nobility" of metal in a toner determined whether or not it could replace the metals already in the print. I am wondering how this along with the fact that some toners seem to tone in proprtion to image density (selenium) while others tone evenly (gold).

Also, if one were to use an indirect toner requiring the print to be bleached before toning, could this be used in conjunction with other toners such as selnium or gold? If so, how would the image be affected if the other toners were used before, rather than after, the indirect toning. I have limited experience with toners other than selenium so please excuse any errors in my understanding of how they work. Thanks.

2. ann

ann Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    you can use a variety of toners on a single print, the important issue is to be sure you wash carefully betweent toners.

i.e. one can use sepia toner and then selenium, happens all the time.
    the tones will shift depending upon which toners are used.
    for example. selenium works from the shadows up and gold from the highlights down.

check tim rudmans book on toning , it will provide more information than perhaps you need, but it should be very helpful.

3. rshepard

rshepard Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I second Ann's recommendation of Tim Rudman's toning book. It's fascinating and worth having on your bookshelf if you tone prints. Another excellent resource is "Beyond Monochrome" by Tony Worobiec and Ray Spence.

You can mix toners to your heart's content. Results will vary with the paper and other factors, but you'll easily find results that you like.

4. Ole

Ole Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter: