Using the 35mm on a rangefinder

Discussion in 'Rangefinder Forum' started by Rob Skeoch, Aug 1, 2007.

1. Rob Skeoch

Rob Skeoch Advertiser Advertiser

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    I think the 35mm is my favourite lens on a rangefinder.

It lets you move a step or two closer to the subject than the 50mm and gives a nice working distance between the subject and the shooter.

This is a quick snap of my wife with the Zeiss Ikon with the 35mm. I find this lens length the most natural with a rangefinder camera.

Most likely about F5.6. Shot on XP2 and scanned from neg.

-Rob

Attached Files:

• 35mm.jpg
      35mm.jpg
      File size:
      133.6 KB
      Views:
  2. Richard Wasserman

Richard Wasserman Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I agree. I have been using Leicas for about 35 years and probably have used a 35mm lens 85% of the time, they do just about everything I need and fit the way I see. That said, the 75mm Summicron I got recently takes my breath away...

Richard Wasserman

3. Pinholemaster

Pinholemaster Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    I have a rangefinder with a 35mm. Never comes off the body. It's the work horse.

The other body is for my 24mm, 75mm, or 135mm.

4. Chazzy

Chazzy Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Are you finding the f2 speed to be adequate for your purposes?

5. Roger Hicks

Roger Hicks Member

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    Couldn't agree more. I bought a Summilux about 25-30 years ago. It was stolen a few years later. I replaced it immediately and am still using the lens for the vast majority of my Leica film shots. The perfect outfit for me is two bodies, one with the Summilux, the other with a 75 Summicron.

6. MattKing

MattKing Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I don't know that it necessarily has anything to do with the cameras being rangefinders. I think it is the focal length and field of view.

35mm is my standard lens on my Olympus OMs and 55mm is my favourite lens on my Mamiya 645.

It is how I see.

Matt