Variable Contrast Paper question...

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by rcoda, Mar 14, 2008.

1. rcoda

rcoda Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Hi:

I'm fairly new to VC papers having been a graded man for 25 years.

Is it possible to first get a good exposure and then give it a short burst at Grade 5 to beef up the blacks? I can't quite seem to get the luscious blacks I was used to with my old favorites, Elite and Seagull. And if so, is there an order to do it in (burst first or burst last)?

Thanks,

Rich

2. Rich Ullsmith

Rich Ullsmith Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    In short, yes. There are all sorts of methods for split-grading; even read here about folks who print strictly by splitting with 1 and 5. Never tried it myself.

3. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  4. Lee Shively

Lee Shively Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Split filtration is not difficult to do with a little practice and familiarity with the materials. If all you need is a little more zip to the print, using a No. 5 filter for a portion of the full exposure will do nicely. I always start with the low contrast filter and follow with the higher contrast. I really don't think it matters much in which order they're done.

5. matti

matti Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I suppose it would be the same as using a harder filter to begin with. I had difficulties getting good blacks with Ilford multigrade developer and when I changed to Dektol I got the blacks I wanted and the muddy feeling was gone.
    /matti

6. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    That's more about print tone/colour.

Multigrade developer is a slightly warm-toned developer, while Dektol is far colder toned.

Ian

7. MurrayMinchin

MurrayMinchin Membership Council Council

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    What VC paper, developer, and light source combination are you using?

Murray

8. rcoda

rcoda Member

Shooter:
    Large Format