VC Safelight

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Anscojohn, Feb 14, 2008.

1. Anscojohn

Anscojohn Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hello All,
    Back in the Pleistocene Era I worked as a printer in a BW lab, using Dupont Varilour paper. Our safelights were the Dupont kind of off brown and were really great because it made it very easy to judge a print under safelight. I know red safelights are safe for VC but I find it much harder to judge a print under red light. I have two unused safelights with 5x7 OA filters. Any suggestions about making a cheapo conversion? TIA

John, Mount Vernon, Virginia USA

2. Erik L

Erik L Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Hi John, you can buy 5x7 filters from bh photo for around 10 bucks I think
    regards
    Erik

3. Anscojohn

Anscojohn Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Thanks, Erik,
    I'll check them out.

John

4. dancqu

dancqu Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    OA. Is that not a yellow-ish green? How about
    an orange or red 15 watt? Dan

5. ath

ath Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    There are some VC papers today which will have issues with other than red safelight.

6. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Use the closest you can to the manufacturers recommended safelight filter. That may not be a Red filter. There can be a problem with red safelights with VC papers which causes a reduction in the achievable contrast range, it's similar to using pre or post flashing to reduce contrast.

This was the reason some manufacturers like Paterson began making special VC safelights/filters.

Ian

7. ath

ath Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Never heard this before. I'd like to hear the reasoning behind this.
    It's clear that even red light is not entirely safe, but (provided same intensity) it cannot be more harmful than light with shorter wave length.

8. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format