vintage MF box camera into a pinhole?

Discussion in 'Pinhole Photography' started by JessicaDittmer, Feb 9, 2011.

1. JessicaDittmer

JessicaDittmer Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    thinking of converting a vintage (antique) camera into a pinhole camera and wondered about that red window commonly found on the back to see the roll frame #. I HAVE to cover that right? can it have a flap of sorts like my holga or do I need to fully cover the thing from the inside? If I do that, do I just use a test roll and memorize how many turns it takes to get to a new frame by practice then? I am new to pinhole photography and wanted to start "easy" by using a non-functioning camera that can still wind/function to hold film for me. I can process my own so it's okay that I use an old one even....thanks for any thoughts/info. I'm hoping to participate in the world wide pinhole photo day this year :D

2. JessicaDittmer

JessicaDittmer Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  3. erikg

erikg Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    So you are taking the lens out and putting a pinhole in its place, but otherwise using the camera as is? You can still use the red window, but a flap is a good idea. Sometimes overlapping frames can give you interesting stuff though. Have fun with it!

4. DWThomas

DWThomas Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format