Want To Buy 8x10 Camera

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by jaredrod, Jul 21, 2006.

1. jaredrod

jaredrod Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I've decided that I want to make the jump. I am looking for a 8x10 field camera with lens if possible. The most important issue is price. I'm a student and on a very tight budget. I understand that clearly one does get what they pay for. Unfortunately funds are limited and I want very much to start getting accustomed to the format as I meant to start an 8x10 portrait project very soon. Thanks, Jared

2. MenacingTourist

MenacingTourist Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Welcome to APUG :smile:

I think the biggest bang for your buck may be a Kodak 2D or maybe a Burke and James or AGFA. Some of these may be rather ugly but still work. Some may even have a lens. The biggest draw back will be less than perfect bellows, but you can get around that by draping your dark cloth over them when you make the exposere as long as they're not super ratty.

I was lucky and found a 5x7 with a shutter/lens that was ambiguesly listed on the auction site and paid $40. The bellows have pinholes but the above solution works just fine. I sent the shutter/lens out for a CLA (Flutot's Camera Repair) and bought a SatinSnow ground glass.

Don't forget to factor in the film and film holders, tripod, dark cloth, cable release, light meter, etc. If you shoot other formats you may already have some of these.

Check the auction place regularly and search odd variations of your primary search. You may luck out.

Good luck and let us know how things work out.

Alan.

3. Steve Hamley

Steve Hamley Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'd go for a Kodak 2D or an Agfa. Be sure whatever you get has the extension rail since you want to do portraits and the rails are frequently missing. The Agfa had a built-in rail on many models, but the Kodak's did not.