Website feedback needed

Discussion in 'Presentation & Marketing' started by stormpetrel, Mar 9, 2013.

1. stormpetrel

stormpetrel Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi guys

I have just launched my website (www.stormpetrel.com) however not being an experienced web designer I'm not confident it will work properly on all the OS/browsers combinations.
    I used Flex (flash technology) to program the website and the guestbook is in PHP.
    The website looked fine with Firefox but when I tried it with IE and opera everything was upside down (PC/windows).
    Those problems have been fixed and the rendering is consistent now however I would like to have some feedback from you (especially from apple and linux users).

The point to check are:
    * are the sound records played properly
    * is it possible to access the guestbook page and are the pages displayed consistently across the website?

Any general critics are welcome too!

By the way, can ipad users visit flash website? I read few months ago that flash was no more supported by Apple but I'm not sure if it was concerning the ipad, the iphone or both?

Cheers, Dom

2. 131802

131802 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Just a blank page on my Linux machine (Iceweasel browser, Debian testing distribution).

3. stormpetrel

stormpetrel Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Thank you! I was uploading some main files during the last 2 hours. Sorry, you might have try to visit the webpage at the wrong moment.

4. Worker 11811

Worker 11811 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Get rid of the Flash. There is nothing that Flash can do which HTML-5 and/or Javascript can't do as well or better.

No, iOS devices can't use Flash and probably never will. Regardless of what you think about Flash, requiring it in order to access your website cuts out that part of your potential market.