Wet Collodion Failure

Discussion in 'Alternative Processes' started by Marc Leest, Sep 20, 2008.

1. Marc Leest

Marc Leest Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Today we tried to make our first wet plate negative. Total failure however. The plate came milky white with some dark blotches out of the developer, with absolutely no trace of an image. Exposure was 15 minutes.
    Any idea's what could have caused this ?

potassiumiodide+potassiunbromide used as halides,
    9% silvernitrate solution
    ferroussulphate as developer
    sodiumthiosulphate as fixer

thx, Marc

2. SuzanneR

SuzanneR Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'm no expert, but I did a workshop this last summer, and our exposure times were anywhere from 3 to 15 seconds in the sun, not minutes. Might it have been completely overexposed?

3. TheFlyingCamera

TheFlyingCamera Membership Council Council

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  4. gr82bart

gr82bart Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Yeah, even with the enlarger method that I use, I don't think I've made anything over 30 seconds exposure.

Regards, Art.

5. RobertP

RobertP Subscriber

Shooter:
    ULarge Format
    15 minutes and you're to the point of your collodion drying out.

6. Marc Leest

Marc Leest Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    But at overexposure, the plate would be black, not mainly white (expected clear ..?) with some black nonimage stains. The reason to use 15 min that a first try of 15 SECONDS yielded in the same result.

7. SuzanneR

SuzanneR Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    What time of day were you shooting? When it's too early or too late, it can be harder to make exposures. Also, when we had an overexposed plate, it looked lighter, not darker. Unless you are using clear glass, I would think. One really dumb mistake I made that yielded no picture... not taking the dark slide out. D'oh!!