Wet Printing

Discussion in 'Color: Film, Paper, and Chemistry' started by thefizz, Feb 29, 2008.

1. thefizz

thefizz Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I'm curious to see if many people are still printing from colour negs by wet printing in trays with RA4 chemistry?

I mainly shoot B&W but lately I've had the desire to do a little colour printing again.

Peter

2. Derek Lofgreen

Derek Lofgreen Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I am just getting the last few bits I need to start printing color.

D.

3. Nick Zentena

Nick Zentena Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Not tray but drums.

4. digiconvert

digiconvert Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I print colour RA4 . I am no expert but a Durst Labometer off ebay does a good job of sorting things for me :smile:. It make no sense at all from a financial point of view given the cost of digital prints but it is great fun to hold a colour print that you have done ! I use trays or drums, trays do tend to be a bit messy . Get a room temp kit from Tetenal (about 20GB.€25) and some Kodak paper from Morco (5x7 is really cheap here) and play is my recommendation :smile:

5. bill williams

bill williams Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    color wet printing

I've worked with a wet B&W darkroom for some 40 years, and I've been printing color in a wet darkroom for nearly 10 years. I've use a lot of hobbyist kits like the Tetenal, but was convince by PE's contributions to try the Kodak chemicals. Now I use them almost exclusively, both for film and paper. It was a good move. I still use kits like Tetenal, but only occassionally.

Even though I do have an old Nova slot processor, I've gone back to trays. I will work mainly with B&W for 3 or 4 months and then take a month to catch up on color. I'm just hoping that the materials for the wet darkroom, both color and B&W, remain available long term.

6. pentaxuser

pentaxuser Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm