What 90 mm Leica-M lens is good?

Discussion in 'Rangefinder Forum' started by LF2007, Apr 13, 2009.

1. LF2007

LF2007 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    For the past few years I have been using a Leica MP with 35 mm Summicron and love the results. The 35 mm is a "difficult" lens as you need to frame carefully not to include too much subject matter but I learned that if I frame well, I can achieve tight compressed photographs which show the characteristics of wide- angle but not too exagerated.

I am now on the market to add a 90 mm Leica-M lens to my outfit. It could be second hand if in good condition as new lenses are expensive and I have no experience with 90 mm lenses. I think the combination of a 35 mm and 90 mm will do for my type of photography. Sometimes I like "wider" shots and in some shots I prefer to pick out the detail, which could be done with the 90 mm.

There seem to be many different types and names available from Leica; elmars, summicrons..... . What type/ version would you recommend? Do you have experience with these lenses? It's ok if it's an older model as long as it peforms. Thanks

2. Jimothy

Jimothy Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I have a 1989 model Summicron 90, built in Canada.
    It's just great!

3. budrichard

budrichard Member

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    I have the same 90mm Summicron made in Canada in chrome. i also have the current 90mm Summicron ASPH. In side by side comparison shots, I can't tell the difference. Frankly just about any 90mm Summicron in Excellent mechanical and optical condition will suffice.-Dick

4. Richard Wasserman

Richard Wasserman Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I would suggest the 90mm Elmarit-M if f/2.8 is fast enough for you. It is quite a bit smaller and lighter than the Summicrons and is a stellar performer.

Richard Wasserman

5. tessar

tessar Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    What disfromage said. The Tele-Elmarit may be the economy model, but results don't lie.

6. Tim Gray