what are these?

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by eagleowl, Jan 31, 2007.

1. eagleowl

eagleowl Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I found these 2 items in a camera bag.
    They're branded mamiya,but what are they?

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 31, 2007
  2. John Koehrer

John Koehrer Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    They appear to be an adapter to allow use of a standard cable release on a camera with an electronic shutter release system. Don't know what camera though one seems to have Mamiya molded on it..

3. Pinholemaster

Pinholemaster Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    John

When I graduated college my first job was in Montana. My friends throw me a dental floss party.

4. MattKing

MattKing Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    They are both Mamiya accessories, most likely for the more recent 645 cameras.

They both permit use of a mechanical cable release on a camera that otherwise requires an electronic one. The one on the left also permits you to use the appropriate left side Mamiya handgrip, with both the hand grip trigger release and hand grip hot shoe being fully functional

Now, here is the tricky part.

They probably are for use on either an M645 Super, M645 Pro or M645 Pro Tl. I don't know whether they will also fit a 645E or 645 AF.

The tricky part is determining which camera or cameras they correspond to. The adapters do not have model numbers engraved on them (as far as I have been able to determine) and most of the information available (e.g. on the Mamiya Users forum) just gives model numbers.

The electronic connection is, IIRC, the same in all three cameras, but the physical layout is different between the 645 Super and the 645 Pro/Pro Tl. The bump on the lower left side of the camera body is differently shaped on the different models, and the adapters are differently shaped to fit.