What is EI?

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by ErinHilburn, Dec 2, 2005.

1. ErinHilburn

ErinHilburn Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I recently had someone mention the EI of a camera to me. This was an older photographer. I'm still a student and was wondering what it was, I immediately thought of this sight and knew someone on here must know. It could be refering to film and not the camera. It was a very brief discussion and I shall not likely speak to him again, so I couldn't very well as him.
    Thanks to anyone who knows,
    -erin

2. David A. Goldfarb

David A. Goldfarb Moderator Staff Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    EI refers to "exposure index," which is the speed rating of the film in combination with a developer as determined by the user, as opposed to the official ISO speed rating of the film.

For instance, the ISO speed of 400TX (Tri-X) is ISO 400 under official standardized testing conditions, but in some developers it might only be EI 200, and in some it might be EI 640 or more.

3. ErinHilburn

ErinHilburn Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    So do developers come with this information or is it some sort of formula you follow as you switch developers and films and what not?

4. David A. Goldfarb

David A. Goldfarb Moderator Staff Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Most films have this kind of information on their technical data sheet (go to www.ilford.com and download some of their film sheets for some of the best examples), but even this is just a starting point, and you can do your own testing for best results.