What kind of toning process is this?

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Mainecoonmaniac, Mar 16, 2011.

1. Mainecoonmaniac

Mainecoonmaniac Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi APUGers.

I've been doing this toning process off and on for over 10 years. While I was assisting, I learned this process where you take a BW print that printed darker than normal, then it's "toned" in a solution of potassium Ferricyanide and potassium bromide. The print is bleached to a certain point. I then wash the bleached print then re-expose it in bright sunlight. The image comes back a brownish. It looks sort of like a lith print. Is this a toning process? How toxic is the solution of potassium Ferricyanide and potassium bromide? Thanks in advance.

2. Bob Carnie

Bob Carnie Subscriber

Shooter:
    Med. Format RF
    I would think after you get the desired effect, do your fix , hypo clear and wash sequence again.

3. Mainecoonmaniac

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Not needed

I've had prints that are 10 years old and there wasn't any fixing after toning the prints. Just a wash to remove any residual toner.

4. Gerald C Koch

Gerald C Koch Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Both potassium bromide and potassium ferricyanide are not very toxic just don't eat them. Usually when you bleach a print you refix it to remove the bleached silver.

5. Mainecoonmaniac

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Does exposure to sun get convert the bleached siver?

I'm just curious, does exposure to bleached silver on a print convert it to a form that is stable when exposed to sunlight? It seems that when I expose the print bleached in the solution of potassium bromide and potassium ferricyanide, the image comes back brownish which is pretty stable.

6. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format