What's the big deal.... [about Leica]

Discussion in 'Rangefinder Forum' started by mps, Nov 8, 2006.

1. mps

mps Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    With Leica rangefinders? At or around $1000! I am a novice by all means (35mm SLR only) and am looking at trying out other cameras/formats. I apologize for the navitiy of my question. But what gives?

2. arigram

arigram Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Get a Voigtlander Bessa R2 and forget about the Leica. If you find them expensive, you don't need one.

3. reellis67

reellis67 Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    They are certainly solidly built and have quality optics, but a lot of the inflation of price has to do with collectors demand and people who place a high value on name recognition.

- Randy

4. Bromo33333

Bromo33333 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Leica is made in Germany and has a great reputation. They have always been expensive, even in the 1950's which was their heyday. So, the reputation, and place of manufacture conspire to make them really expensive. They are also viewed as being something of a luxury item, especially new.

They are collected avidly, and they both are repairable, and are well built enough that they can last 50-70 years usually. This makes the used prices rather high.

If you are on a budget ($1000 is nice), and want to buy new, as was said earlier, a Voigtlander RF + lens will do you really well and you will be able to have the whole package under $1000.

5. mark

mark Member

I am no fan of over priced cameras and will never be able to afford a Leica, much less justify it if I could, but they are nice. They just feel like they belong in your hand. SOunds weird but that is how I felt when I was loaned one for a day.

6. reellis67

reellis67 Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format