Which film do you prefer and why?

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by jasonjoo, Mar 11, 2008.

1. jasonjoo

jasonjoo Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I just read another thread on this forum and a user mentioned that Tri-X 320 and 400 have different characteristics (320 having an "unswept" curve while the 400 produces more linear results).

I'm fairly new to the traditional photography world and to be quite honest, I thought people mainly chose the films they did based on the amount of grain, the color characteristics (such as Velvia being more saturated), the ability to do long exposures (repricocity?), etc. Now that I read that post, I feel like there is a lot more to film then just the quality/size of the grain (in another thread, someone mentioned the different thickness of the anti-halation layer and how that plays a roll in developing film).

I was wondering if the fine people here on APUG could share why you shoot the particular b/w film you do and why. I understand that the availability of light will obviously play an important factor (ie: 100 vs 3200 ISO), but I guess in a more general sense, what kind of characteristics do you look for in a film and why.

Thanks!

Jason

BTW, I've bought a few different types of b/w film to try and see which one I prefer. So far, I've only gone through maybe 2-3 rolls of Fuji Neopan Acros 100 and Delta 3200 (which I have yet to get developed). I currently have a roll of Delta 400 in my Rolleiflex and some Kodak TMY400 and HP5 sitting in the fridge. So many choices!

2. david b

david b Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Ilford FP4+ in xtol 1+2 is quite nice.

Agfa APX 100 in xtol 1+1 is stunning.

Acros in either rodinal or xtol is also really nice.

3. nworth

nworth Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format