Which is harder? Color or B&W?

Discussion in 'Ethics and Philosophy' started by roteague, Jan 31, 2006.

1. roteague

roteague Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I've recently finished reading David Ward's excellent book "Landscape Within"; this is more a book about the philosophy behind landscape photography than about pure technique.

In this book David makes the the following statement "It is much harder to make a great photograph in color than b/w because the complexity that the photographer must control has increased many fold, since not only form and tone but also colors must now be balanced."

Do you agree or disagree, and why?

2. Dave Parker

Dave Parker Inactive

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I am a color photographer, and I find statements of this nature purely subjective, each photographer is going to find their own set of difficulties in each medium, I find B&W far more difficult due to the fact I have to change my thinking process to see in tones and not colors, I have never been a good one for converting colors to tones, so my difficulty is the seeing portion of the process.

Dave

3. Paul Sorensen

Paul Sorensen Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It makes for an interesting argument over beer. I think that there is no possible right answer to this. If the artist is putting into their work what they ought to be, it is hard work and it doesn't matter the medium. Of course, when the artist is truly dialed in, it is likely easy. Perhaps the hardest medium is the one in which you produce the worst results, no matter how hard you try, you just can't get it right.

Can I get anyone another beer while I am up? :D

4. Dave Parker

Dave Parker Inactive

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Sure, you want a slice to go with it, I am heading to the Kitchen to refill the beer and grab a slice of pepperoni with sauage!

:D

Dave

5. celluloidpropaganda

celluloidpropaganda Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format