WHICH PHOTO GALLERY SOFTWARE FOR PERSONAL WEB SITE?

Discussion in 'Presentation & Marketing' started by Terrance Hounsell, Mar 31, 2006.

1. Terrance Hounsell

Terrance Hounsell Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I am in the process of developing my own web site (with the help of a more computer savy friend) and I would like to use some sort of "GALLERY" software whereby I could go into the site and add or delete my images easily without having to go to a web site designer every time.

I have been looking at software by Pixitivity:
    http://www.tivity.com/pixtivity/pixtivity_releasing_soon.cfm#
    but the release is a long time coming and being new there won't be any feedback about how well it works any time soon either.

So I would like to ask for help in choosing some software appropriate for managing a photo gallery on the net.

I am primarily a large format photographer and don't need a fancy site just something appropriate for black and white landscape photographs.

Thanks in advance for your help, Terrance

2. Jeremy

Jeremy Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Don't to forget to have it hosted by Apug :D

Shameless plug.

3. per volquartz

per volquartz Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Not sure if such software is available... ?

Perhaps you could just use standard website "construction" software. While there is a learning curve for making complicated sites it is quite easy to build your own using off the shelf standard software.

If you have a Mac use Go Live made by Adobe and use Fetch (free software) to upload new material).

http://www.pervolquartz.com

- built using Go Live...

4. kaiyen

kaiyen Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Do you mean you want something that you install yourself on our site? What about gallery? Or coppermine? Both are pretty popular, have a strong user base and are configurable.

Or, you can go with something like smugmug. People customize the heck out of that on a regular basis.

allan

5. wfe

wfe Member

Shooter: