why are easel's white ??

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by Rock Poper, Jun 24, 2005.

1. Rock Poper

Rock Poper Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I'm a beginner in the darkroom so I apologize for asking something that clearly must have a good answer ...

I just cant figure it out myself (hungover right now too :tongue:) >>

Why are most .. well, all easel's that I've seen painted white ?

I would have thought to cut down on reflections (and the resultant loss of contrast in a print) it would be prudent to color everything in a darkroom matte black .... It would be a drab place to be, but maybe at least around the easel/enlarger area ??

2. Dave Parker

Dave Parker Inactive

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    My bogen easels are mustard yellow! and nope, I don't know why..

Dave

3. MurrayMinchin

MurrayMinchin Membership Council Council

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    The bases of mine - a Saunders adjustable four blade and several Zone VI's -are yellow. The blades of the Saunders, and the metal bits that hold the paper flat in the case of the Zone VI's, are flat black.

Murray

4. Bob F.

Bob F. Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  5. Flotsam

Flotsam Member

I believe that yellow is used because it is light enough to compose on but will reflect any white light that goes through the paper during exposure back in the "safe" spectrum preventing halation. I have had white easles and they don't make sense to me either. I just painted them black.

6. Rock Poper

Rock Poper Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I got an LPL easel thrown in along with my enlarger, it had some corrosion which I sanded back, and repainted black - I thought tho, perhaps I had just done something stupid that I would regret further down the line, but it appears not.. the other thread answers it quite comprehensively

I should have searched the forum's for this, then I wouldn't have doubled up on the info.

7. Flotsam

Flotsam Member