Wisner good/bad/?? for portraiture

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by smdiani, Mar 26, 2009.

1. smdiani

smdiani Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'm new to Apug, and I apologize if this question has been asked and answered already. I'm a photojournalist switching to portraiture. Most of my work is digital, but I'd like to slow things down a bit and invest in either a 4x5 or a RZ67. I've found a Wisner Technical kit locally being sold, used, but in good condition. Anyone have experience using this camera for portraiture? I'm not new to LF, but I'm not a genius at it either. RZ would definitely be cheaper/easier. Thanks for any thoughts.

2. keithwms

keithwms Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Go for the RZ.

3. Andrew O'Neill

Andrew O'Neill Subscriber

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    I've never used a Wisner camera before but I hear they are quite nice. I use a Canham 8x10. Anyways, you would have a lot more creative control with the 4x5 camera than you would with the RZ67 (I have the RB67) with tilts swings, etc. Plus, you have the larger negative that could be contact printed and of course enlarged without losing detail, compared to the 120 negative.

4. archphoto

archphoto Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Ok, you are at 100 mph now and want to go slower....: A RZ 67 (or RB67) would cut your speed back to 55 mph, LF you would be at walking speed and with experience maybe at running speed.

The transition from a DSLR with 5 fps to the RZ would be relatively easy and would be a good first step.
    The next step would be LF. I have done portraits with LF and I love it, but it is more formal than the casual look you will get with the RZ.

I have all 3 right now and it verry much depends of what kind of look I want what camera I choose.
    I would grab my RB with the 150mm SF first I think....

Peter

5. jnanian

jnanian Advertiser Advertiser

Shooter:
    Multi Format