Your typical airline procedures?

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by Keytarjunkie, Jan 10, 2011.

1. Keytarjunkie

Keytarjunkie Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi guys. I'm very new in the realm of large format, just shot my first six or seven negs today with a borrowed speed graphic. It's really fun :smile: I love spending a lot of time thinking about composition and setting up the shot. Anyway, I'm flying back to school in a month, and I have to bring this film back with me to process it. What's the best way to transport it? It's just ten sheets of Ektar 100 by the way. I'm assuming I'll be best removing the film from the holders and putting them all back in the box. Should I just ship the box through USPS? Or should I put it in my carry-on? Does it really matter? Thanks, I know 4x5 film behaves the same way as any other size of film, but I don't want some airport security officer opening my box and exposing it all either, ya know? What's the safest economical way to transport this stuff?

2. munz6869

munz6869 Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I always put all my film in carry-on, as the check-in luggage x-ray machines WILL ruin film. I've gone on trips with up to six passes through carry-on x-ray machines, and film no faster than TXP320, and haven't had any problems yet. Last year I brought 40 sheets of exposed Ektar 100 home from Europe to Australia and they were all fine - all were back in the box and sealed up with sticky tape, with an "exposed film" label (as well as info about how many sheets, and so forth)! Security at Munich were interested in my camera backpack's padding, but not really the camera or the film...

Marc!

3. FiatluX

FiatluX Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Carry-on is your safest bet!

4. paul_c5x4

paul_c5x4 Subscriber

Shooter:
    Large Format