Zeiss Nettar 517/2 viewfinder question

Discussion in 'Rangefinder Forum' started by StigHagen, Jan 13, 2013.

1. StigHagen

StigHagen Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I think I´m going to buy a Zeiss Nettar 517/2. I´ve heard the built in viewfinder is very smallish and wonder if I can use a 35mm seperate viewfinder in the hotshoe? The camera is 6x9 and since 35mm have same aspect ratio, a 35mm zoom finder could maybe do well? Can somebody suggest a nice viewfinder for such a camera?

What about parallex error, I guess that increases the more the viewfinder is above the camera, making the inbuilt more ideal?

Let me hear how you guys are using such an camera. I really like the price and the wonderful big negative, so I hope I can use the camera :smile:

2. StigHagen

StigHagen Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Or maybe a viewfinder magnifier would do...can any recommend a model that fits well on this camera? I have no experience in rangefinder cameras.

3. ntenny

ntenny Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    You know the Nettar is scale-focus, not a rangefinder, right?

The 105mm lens is the equivalent of something like a 45mm lens in the 35mm format. It doesn't seem to be so easy to find a viewfinder in the normal range. Voigtlaender used to sell one but doesn't any longer, and I bet it costs a pretty penny if you find one. There's a Soviet turret-style universal finder that seems to run about US$100. Your best bet might be to try using the stock viewfinder for a while, and monitor eBay for a chance to get a 50mm viewfinder at a lowball price.

I've never used the 6x9 version, but I've found the finders on 6x6 Nettars to be usable as long as they're clean. They're small but not ridiculous.

-NT

4. StigHagen

StigHagen Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format