PDA

View Full Version : Do you really need photo school to be a pro?

Pages : [1] 2 3

Mainecoonmaniac
03-20-2013, 12:07 PM
My experience so far..No.

http://www.petapixel.com/2013/03/20/do-you-need-a-photography-degree-to-be-a-successful-photographer/#more-104180

Felinik
03-20-2013, 12:09 PM
Of course not, but if you are about to chose an education anyway and are already decided that your goal is to work with photography, it would be a bit stupid to take on an education to become a doctor...

:)

AgX
03-20-2013, 12:17 PM
Over here up to recently one was only allowed offering commercial photography after having gained a diploma in one of three formal trainings (vocational school, universities of applied sciences).

Bob Carnie
03-20-2013, 12:45 PM
I believe it helps, I have a three year degree form a community college program , I sure as hell wish I had continued and got my Masters.

tkamiya
03-20-2013, 01:10 PM
In US anyway, you can get into any occupation that does not involve professional licensing or certification with no formal education or training. However, getting such training may be the easiest way to get into one and convince potential clients you can do the job. (which is not always true...)

PKM-25
03-20-2013, 02:08 PM
No, more than anything you need the talent and drive to rise above your competition...

In the late 80's, I was working with a rather well known figure in aviation photography on a book. At first, I just wanted to assist him but he asked to see my work and upon reviewing some Kodachromes in a sheet of 20, he asked me if I wanted to co-illustrate the book. As we worked together, I told him I wanted to go to Brooks Institute in Santa Barbra, CA.

He said he did not think it would give me much since I already had what a lot of the students did not, a good eye and to instead just get busy getting to work.

He was right and here I am 22 years later still going strong.