PDA

View Full Version : What shutter am I looking for-Tele Dynar 20cm



GregW
06-24-2013, 09:13 AM
I found a front and rear element set of a 1920s-30s Voigtlander Tele-Dynar and would like to use it with my 9 x 12 Avus when I'm shooting on 120 film at 6 x 9. I assume this was stripped out of a Bergeil 6,5 x 9 set up? The dimensions are:
Rear element 26mm (threads od)
Front element 29mm
So, I need a shutter I can mount on the Avus that would hold this set.
Anybody have a clue? Ideas?
Thanks
Greg

E. von Hoegh
06-24-2013, 10:08 AM
In addition to the threads, the spacing is critical.

GregW
06-24-2013, 10:15 AM
Yes, I'm hoping a 6,5x9 Voigtlander Avus would have the correct size shutter and if I could locate one of those…This lens was supposed to fit it. it's listed in the manual as an accessory. But i think that sort of shutter should be pretty commonly used on cameras in that period? an Ibsor or Compur of the right size?

E. von Hoegh
06-24-2013, 10:21 AM
Yes, I'm hoping a 6,5x9 Voigtlander Avus would have the correct size shutter and if I could locate one of those…This lens was supposed to fit it. it's listed in the manual as an accessory. But i think that sort of shutter should be pretty commonly used on cameras in that period? an Ibsor or Compur of the right size?

You would probably need to find a shutter which originally mounted that particular lens, unless you know the correct spacing you'll be guessing. Shutters of that era were far less standardised than today; for instance I have two pre WWII lenses mounted in the same size Compound shutters, both the threads and the tube lengths are different. Perhaps you can find and measure the shutter of an identical lens to get the dimensions you need. As I pointed out, spacing is critical - just because the cells screw in does not mean they are correctly spaced.

GregW
06-24-2013, 10:46 AM
Thank you, Maybe someone with a nice 6 x 9 Bergheil or avus could chime in with measurements? please!

ntenny
06-24-2013, 12:10 PM
All the Avi I've seen have had Compur shutters. I have a 6.5x9 at home that I can measure for diameter this evening, but as pointed out above there was a lot of variance in that era. Do you have a set of calipers to measure the lens threads?

-NT

GregW
06-24-2013, 01:08 PM
Thanks Nathan,
I would love that. I don't have calipers but with very careful measuring i get 29mm in front and 26mm in back. this od of the lens mount threads.
Greg

ntenny
06-24-2013, 02:51 PM
Hmm, it doesn't match anything on the list at http://www.suaudeau.eu/memo/pratique/Les_obturateurs_centraux.html. I don't know if that's good news or bad news; if the mounting was an unusual custom arrangement, that might reduce the chances of a "partial match" (like having the right threads but the wrong spacing).

As an aside, I just love the French word "obturateur" for "shutter"; because of the cognate with English "obdurate", it suggests to me not a properly working shutter, but a shutter that's stuck closed!

-NT

GregW
06-24-2013, 03:38 PM
Try the google translate as I did "Core Plugs" ??! anyway, I'll hope the multiple question marks hides the answer. I bet my measurements are off by.5mm btw
greg

E. von Hoegh
06-25-2013, 09:50 AM
If you don't have calipers, measure the circumference of the threads with a bit of thin wire or something else which will not stretch. Apply pi and you'll have a bit more accuracy than you'll get just eyeballing the diameter with a ruler.

P.S. "Obdurate" and "obturateur" come from different roots IIRC.

ntenny
06-25-2013, 11:14 PM
I stand corrected---my very own 6.5x9 Avus has an Ibsor shutter, not a Compur as I thought. I couldn't get the lens elements off without more force than I wanted to apply, but from educated guessing about where the threads are, I think it's probably the standard dimensions as given on the French site: 29.5mm diameter, both front and rear. If it varies from that size it can't be by much.

There's a photo at http://www.flickr.com/photos/rebollo_fr/4826112985/ of a 6.5x9 Bergheil mounting the 20cm Tele-Dynar; it's in a rimset Compur shutter with speeds to 1/200, for what that's worth.

-NT

GregW
06-26-2013, 09:55 AM
Thanks a bunch Nathan. I remeasured mine and get 29.5 for the front and 26 for the rear. Well, I wonder if the Bergheil bayonet mount reduces the rear opening? as in: Shutter, bayonet mount then rear element screws into that? Resulting in the size discrepancy.

edp
06-27-2013, 05:13 AM
My 6x9 Bergheil has a f/3.5 lens, which pushes it up to a Compur 1. The f/4.5 gets a Compur 0.

The bayonet doesn't occlude the lens at all; it's fixed under the retaining ring.

GregW
06-27-2013, 09:25 AM
Thank you, I believe I am looking for a compur 0 or equivalent. From studying the versions of this lens available on the popular auction site, I see one with a step ring on the rear element. It looks like I'm missing that ring.

edp
06-27-2013, 12:06 PM
Here's a picture of mine for comparison with the picture in post #11: my shutter looks a size larger, and it's not very clear but it looks to me like the tele-dynar shutter goes to 250, like a Compur 0 does.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/9295972@N02/3708832991/

I've been vaguely interested in these lenses for ages but never seen one at a reasonable price, so if you find a shutter it fits I'll be interested to see what it's like.

GregW
06-27-2013, 05:19 PM
Very nice looking camera. I'm hoping without to much work to be able to make this work. I didn't pay nearly what they are offered for. It may take some time to get it all sorted out. i'll post some results when i do.

gandolfi
06-28-2013, 08:14 AM
I have a working Tele-Dynar on my Bergheil 6.6x9... I'll find it and get back to you .. (great lens!!)

GregW
06-29-2013, 10:00 AM
fantastic! Would love some specs on the mounting!

GregW
06-30-2013, 12:08 PM
Problem solved!!! Went to a local camera show and took the lens along. I found a "Kodak Compur" that it fit into perfectly! Now just need to work out a lens board adapter which should be a breeze. I couldn't believe it there were only about 3 ? compur 0's in the whole place and one of them worked. It seems to be focusing fine from what I can tell on the ground glass.