PDA

View Full Version : How does everyone store their vintage negatives?

Tobes
08-20-2013, 11:07 PM
Hi everyone. I'm really new to vintage film photography and just starting out with my first small collection of unmounted negatives & transparencies from the late '60s/early '70s. I have no idea how to store them so that is my main concern - to keep them in the same condition over a long period.

So I was just wondering how everyone stores and preserves their vintage film?

The ones that I have are 2 1/4" if that makes any sense. :) Thanks for any help!

Kevin Caulfield
08-20-2013, 11:19 PM
The usual storage method is probably archival sleeves (clear plastic) in an archival box. How are they stored at present?

Tobes
08-20-2013, 11:44 PM
The usual storage method is probably archival sleeves (clear plastic) in an archival box. How are they stored at present?

Thanks for your reply. They're in a storage box with a few other things to keep them away from dust/dirt. They're between a glassine sleeve at the moment, which is also inside a regular envelope (for a bit of added protection) and I put the envelope inside a regular plastic zip-lock bag.

I've heard Print File make great archival sleeves but I'm unsure of the right sized one to buy. They don't seem to have ones for 2 1/4" film (it's pretty small).

The archival box sound great and I will probably buy one if that's the best container to keep them in.

Kevin Caulfield
08-21-2013, 12:11 AM
You should be able to find sleeves for 2 1/4". It's also called "120".

MattKing
08-21-2013, 12:20 AM
Welcome to APUG.

Just as an aside, you may need to be careful around some of us here if you start referring to "negatives & transparencies from the late '60s/early '70s" as vintage.:whistling:

With respect to the film size itself, it would be a good idea if you gave us the exact dimensions of a typical negative or transparency.