PDA

View Full Version : Asked to take a portrait - help!

Craig
02-07-2014, 09:41 PM
A friend of mine has been hitting the gym and lost a lot of weight; now he wants me to take a nude/semi nude photo of him to give to his girlfriend. I've never done people photos like this before, especially in a studio type setting.

Any tips for lighting, background etc? I'm more of a landscapes sort of guy and just work with natural light. Work does have a modest pair of strobes I could borrow with an umbrella for taking the "new employees" headshot.

I've got a Nikon F6 and Df with an SB800 speedlight, as well as MF and LF cameras and the usual sort of lenses. I'm a complete newbie to indoor people pictures, so I'm looking for a primer on lighting and backgrounds. Links to such resources would be great, I'm in the "I don't know what I don't know" stage.

I've only ever done one other people shot before, and I just treated him like a landscape! That won't work in winter here, since it was -30 this week.
http://www.apug.org/gallery1/showimage.php?i=3684&catid=member&imageuser=1719

omaha
02-07-2014, 09:50 PM
Has he shown you examples of what he has in mind? That's where I'd start.

Craig
02-07-2014, 09:52 PM
Alas no. I can ask that and go from there.

Tom1956
02-07-2014, 09:52 PM
Just say you don't do nudie pictures. That's the best ticket. If I asked my buddy for such a thing, he'd think I was a.... (not PC).

omaha
02-07-2014, 09:57 PM
Alas no. I can ask that and go from there.

That's what I'd do. Find a few that he likes and study the posing/light/background/etc and just replicate it. I assume he knows you're in a learning mode, so he shouldn't be expecting any stunning feats of artistic creativity here.

patrickth
02-07-2014, 10:11 PM
Just look on utube videos for Rembrandt lighting. Pic one you like and go from there. It doesn't have to be complicated, nor do you need to over think it.

rembrandt lighting photography diagram

hoffy
02-07-2014, 11:45 PM