PDA

View Full Version : Carl Zeiss Jena Universal Palmos #8098 (1903)

ragc
11-12-2006, 08:57 AM
Hello: I am new in APUG. I have posted in other forums, but APUG is unique in having this Antique camera section. I have a Carl Zeiss Jenna Universal Palmos which is in 8+ condition except for the back, which was modified by the previous owner to accept a B&J 5x7 back, and which I have "repaired" by converting it to 4x5 using a Graphic View I back. From the serial number I deduce this may be a first year of production camera (this assumption is based on the number of a presentation camera I saw in an auction which was just 14 ciphers earlier than mine, and dated 1903). Anyone having information on this particular camera please let me know what you know, or where to find more information on it. I would like to find what lens/shutter was original equipment, accessories, etc. Thanks!

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h285/ragc01/Dsc00102c.jpg

ragc
11-18-2006, 08:01 PM
"I have posted in other forums, but APUG is unique in having this Antique camera section."

But no one posts in it!

ragc
11-24-2006, 12:14 AM
Here is the same camera, but now with a Zeiss Dominar f4.5 on a dial-set Compur shutter and with the Newton Viewfinder fitted to the viewfinder rail.

http://home.comcast.net/~ragc/wsb/media/109180/site1112.JPG

glennfromwy
11-24-2006, 12:41 AM
I can't give any specs on your camera, which is a nice looking specimen. I can say, however, a nice one can command a pretty fair chunk of cash. I tend to collect and use classic cameras of various kinds. Love 'em. Especially 6X4.5 folders and press cameras.

ragc
11-24-2006, 07:15 AM
I found it described in eBay as a Burke & James (the previous owner had adapted a B&J 5x7 back to it). I was the only bidder. I knew it was not a B&J as I bid, but the price was around $40.00, so I went for it. It was quite a pleasant surprise when I received it.