PDA

View Full Version : OLd Lens

seawolf66
04-12-2007, 10:59 AM
I am new to the large format camera! I have owned a Kodak Pony premo # 6 for some time have just gotten the shutter to work correctly [I think] I all the reading I am doing here and other places ; In the large format Camera Lens are refered to as in Inches and not MM ? is there a place to get info on that or a way to determine the lens on the camera in Inches?

I also have other kodak lens that came off old kodak cameras! one lens reads[ kodak anastigmat F 7.7 No. 13978 ? what camera its off is unknowen?
the next one is off a No.2-C Autographic kodak Jr.
the lens says ! A rapid rectilinear by baush & lomb Optical co. shutter says US-F4 to F128 - Kodak Ball Bearing shutter! and it sounds good at 1/100

In playing around with the lens I found that the lens them selfs will screw in to my Pony premo mont on the shutter for the Pony Premo # 6???

Now what kind of trouble would I give myself by changing the front and back lens from one set to my set up on the camera Or would it be easyer just change the shutter and lens all toghter and then just Punt from there On!!!!!

thatns for any kind of answers::confused:

Whiteymorange
04-12-2007, 12:15 PM
The change of centimeters to inches is easily done at any of the websites that convert for you. This (http://www.onlineconversion.com/length_common.htm) works pretty quickly.

The Anastigmatic should be either an 8 in. (the precursor of the 203mm Ektar) or a 170 mm common on 3A folders. Either one should cover the 4x5 format of that Premo 6 with no real issue. Both are pretty nice lenses for their time.

The format of the 2c was just under 3x5, so that lens may work as well. The aperture markings are the old US system. US 16 equals f16 and you can count up and down from there. US 4 to US 128 is f8 to f64, if I'm not mistaken.