PDA

View Full Version : Exposing for highlight and printing for shadows??

mealers
05-20-2008, 03:47 AM
Hi everyone

I've been using the zone system for a couple months but have found myself finding it easier to expose for my highlights and then print down for the shadow areas.
Basically I'm placing my highlight area on zone VII/VIII then letting my shadow are fall where ever it lands then controlling the shadow by printing with MG paper taking selenium toning into account.
Should I rigourously be sticking to Ansels ZS instead?

Forgot to say that I use only black and white 120 roll film and only have 2 backs.

If this is a really daft question then please forgive me.

Many thanks
Mike

Kvistgaard
05-20-2008, 04:39 AM
Hey Mike - do whatever feels right for you. If using the zone system partly works fine, then stick to that method. That is what I do - using the general ZS thinking to guide exposure decisions, not buying the whole "package". I find that incredibly helpful.

Keep in mind you can also control contrast range by reducing or extending negative development time.

No daft questions exist - only daft answers!

Ian Grant
05-20-2008, 04:43 AM
Well all convention has always been expose for the shadows and develop for the highlights, and the Zone system and BTZS are just ways of measuring and controlling this.

You do run the risk of loosing shadow detail.

Ian

panastasia
05-20-2008, 05:47 AM
Mike, your method works best for color transparencies - expose for the highlights.

Paul

climbabout
05-20-2008, 05:56 AM
Mike - just keep in mind that no amount of manipulation can make up for inadequate exposure in the shadow areas. Shadow areas develop in the very early stages of the film development and are relatively unnaffected by extending your development. If those areas do not receive adequate exposure, you'll just end up with clear areas in the negative, no matter what you do post exposure.
Tim

Doremus Scudder
05-20-2008, 05:56 AM
Mike,