PDA

View Full Version : A modern wet plate camera?

Pages : [1] 2

andybiggs
12-26-2008, 09:25 PM
Sorry, I just realized this post belongs in this forum, not the other one I posted in.

I am new to the wet plate collodion process, and I am trying to find something that may not exist.

I would like to find a modern, possibly brand new, camera on the market that can be modified to shoot both wet plates and sheet film. I would like to shoot with an 8x10 camera (nothing larger), in order to get full plate, half plate, possibly 5x7 or 5x8 plates, and 8x10 film.

My goal is to have a very rigid camera that is also fairly lightweight. If I have to remove the capability to also shoot film, then that isn't a big deal. But I travel to areas where weight is a major issue, and every pound saved is a good thing. I am also in windy situations, and a modern rigid camera is what I would like to have.

I don't anticipate using more than a 300mm or 360mm lens, but I will need to be able to focus somewhat close to do heat shot portraits. My preference would be to do fully length body shots, head shots and environmental portraits at a distance. Some rise / fall would be nice, but no other movements are needed.

Any thoughts? I have noticed that some people have modified their 8x10 film holders to accommodate a tintype plate, which looks cool, but I wonder if there is something better out there that might already be on the market.

Thanks so so much in advance.

Andy

smieglitz
12-26-2008, 11:34 PM
Your best bet is to contact Wayne Pierce or Ray Morganweck (Star Camera Co.) to see if they will build a wetplate back and matching holding for the 8x10 film camera of your choice. A dedicated back and holder will be much easier to use than a converted film holder and will also minimize damage caused by silver nitrate to your host camera. The wetplate back and holder will take most of the damage instead.