PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Formula for Silver Emulsion

Pages : [1] 2

Malco_123
02-12-2009, 06:12 PM
http://unblinkingeye.com/Articles/Emulsion/emulsion.html

I found this formula and procedure on line and was wondering if any with more experience could awnser a couple of questions:

1. Does this formula seem like it would work?
2. Do all emulsions need a sensitizeing dye?
3. What would you use to Stop and Fix these plates, if anything?

and finally more of a basic question:
4. How do you determine an emulsion's ISO, and will it be fairly constant throughout all the plates that use that particular batch?

I am a really new to making my own film and stuff, but I do know my way around a darkroom. Any help, perhaps a better beginners formula, would be apreciated.

Malco

tiberiustibz
02-12-2009, 06:34 PM
I have limited knowledge but I'll give a few of these a go. It's published on unblinkingeye which seems to indicate it would work, after all these have been around for two centuries. Halide on its own is only sensitive to blue light. Sensitizing dyes are required to make films which are sensitive to other colors besides blue. You would develop this like any other film, as that's what it is. This is sort of like getting "liquid light emulsion" or whatever it is that you can coat t-shirts with or whatever.

The stated settings are F8 1/30 which equates to ISO 8 using the sunny 16 rule. The speed is varied based on the rate of addition of the nitrate solution and the ripening process. This is all stated on the page you provided.

Malco_123
02-12-2009, 08:50 PM
Sorry I wasn't more specific.

There are many diffrent types of stop and fix, so I was wondering what type I would use.

Also what exactly is a sensetizing dye, I know what it does, but what chemical is it? Also when and how would I add it to the plate?

Photo Engineer
02-12-2009, 09:33 PM