PDA

View Full Version : Lens hood size for 135mm Zeiss Tessar?



Anton Lukoszevieze
03-22-2009, 06:45 AM
I am stupid or its Sunday. I cannot work out what size lenshood I need for a 135mm Zeiss Tessar 4.5 lens from 1930/1. It is not here yet, so I cannot measure it.
Is it 42mm push on or 52mm, can't work it out even from literature.....duh

:)

archphoto
03-22-2009, 07:00 AM
Just be patient and measure when it is in, then you will know for shure.

Peter

Anton Lukoszevieze
03-22-2009, 07:09 AM
There goes a wise man. :)

Mike Kennedy
03-22-2009, 07:13 AM
Ole' St. Nick was kind to me this year and left a nice digital caliper.Invaluable for measuring.

Anton Lukoszevieze
03-22-2009, 07:21 AM
Digital!!! Oh the horror!!

Ian Grant
03-22-2009, 09:16 AM
One of my f4.5 135mm Tessar's is here with me in Turkey on a Patent Etui, it's the same version as yours. The lens cap of my late production f5.6 150mm Xenar would only fit if forced on and stretched that's a 36mm fit. So I'd say it needs a 37mm push on Lens hood.

My other f4.5 135mm Tessar is a later version, the lens barrel is different much thicker walls and it's in a rimset Compur that takes a 39mm filter and I'd guess would need a 42mm push on lens hood. The cells from the Rimset Compur & Dialset Compur aren't interchangeable the shutters are different internal diameters and threads are different sizes.

Ian

Anton Lukoszevieze
03-22-2009, 09:47 AM
Thanks Ian, that is very helpful!

ChuckP
03-23-2009, 04:21 PM
On mine with rimset Compur I use a Kodak 42mm push on VI adapter.

Ian Grant
03-24-2009, 03:45 AM
On mine with rimset Compur I use a Kodak 42mm push on VI adapter.

What's the filter thread Chuck.

My f4.5 135mm Tessar cells are in the UK so I can't check, but I think that the thread is smaller than 40.5mm which is the filter thread size of my f4.5 T coated 150mm Tessar cells that I swapped them with. I'm sure when I bought the lens with a Crown Graphic it came fitted with a 39mm--58mm stepping ring for filters. Both front cells are 42mm OD, and fit rim-set Compur/Coplal 1 shutters.

Ian

JPD
03-24-2009, 04:30 PM
I have one 135/4,5 Tessar in a dial-set Compur that takes 37mm, and one in a rim-set Compur that takes 42mm. My guess would be 37mm, but measure it when it arrives. :)

ChuckP
03-24-2009, 05:53 PM
What's the filter thread Chuck.

My f4.5 135mm Tessar cells are in the UK so I can't check, but I think that the thread is smaller than 40.5mm which is the filter thread size of my f4.5 T coated 150mm Tessar cells that I swapped them with. I'm sure when I bought the lens with a Crown Graphic it came fitted with a 39mm--58mm stepping ring for filters. Both front cells are 42mm OD, and fit rim-set Compur/Coplal 1 shutters.

Ian

Trying to eyeball it with a ruler it looks like 39mm is correct for the filter threads. This is for the rimset Compur version 135mm f4.5.

DannL
03-24-2009, 07:50 PM
Just to add/repeat the advice given thusfar, I used the Zeiss/Ikon Sonnenblende A37 1112. It fit inside the Tessar 135, and would fit over a Skopar 135.

Anscojohn
03-24-2009, 08:38 PM
I am stupid or its Sunday. I cannot work out what size lenshood I need for a 135mm Zeiss Tessar 4.5 lens from 1930/1. It is not here yet, so I cannot measure it.
Is it 42mm push on or 52mm, can't work it out even from literature.....duh

:)
*****
It is possible it may be neither. Some German lenses actually used the Eastman "Series" threading.

JPD
03-24-2009, 08:39 PM
Just to add/repeat the advice given thusfar, I used the Zeiss/Ikon Sonnenblende A37 1112. It fit inside the Tessar 135, and would fit over a Skopar 135.Then your Tessar takes 42mm filters/hood.

Btw, the threads on these older Tessars are for the front element retaining ring only, and not for filters.

DannL
03-25-2009, 12:25 AM
Then your Tessar takes 42mm filters/hood.

Btw, the threads on these older Tessars are for the front element retaining ring only, and not for filters.

Ahhh, no wonder it worked so well. :D

JPD
03-25-2009, 06:06 AM
Ahhh, no wonder it worked so well. :D:D Haha

No, actually I wrote the "btw" part so that no one would buy 35,5mm filters to find out that the thread pitch is wrong.