PDA

View Full Version : Lens problems with Horizon S3 Pro - Fixed, Still exist or Urban Myth???



fo55ilboy
04-10-2009, 07:27 AM
Having dropped my poor old Horizon 202 :(

I have managed to repair it so that it works, although the aperture and shutter speed controls are a little lose and some care is needed to select the correct setting. Even before this accident, I was using the hozizon enough to think about buying spare or backup camera. The problem I had was cosing between another 202 or go for 203 U500 which has the extra 1/500 shutter speed. I shoot mostly 400ASA for flexibility but was having problems on brighter days with not over exposing a little even on f16 and 1/250. And to be honest I find the damn filters so tricky to get in an out I can never be bothered.

However, I have heard there were problems with the S3 lens at certain apertures. I see on another thread the suggestion that the S3 lens be replaced with a 202 lens. Are these problems real? An urban myth? or something that was only in the earlier versions and fixed in later models? Rather than exacerbate any "myths/rumours" any direct experience or official information would be of interest before I make my decision and purchase. Regards Stuart.

fo55ilboy
04-10-2009, 07:33 AM
BTW: forgot to say...if you do ever drop your Horizon 202 and have an excuse to take it apart and look inside, it is well worth doing. These things are a marvel of clockwork intricacy. Not quite a swiss clock but still fascinating. If only some inventive person in Honk Kong or the far easy would produce a clear plastic version with all the workings clear to see, the camera would get even more looks and comments than it does anyway. I wished I'd photographed it instead of being in ahurry to put it together and see if my fix had worked. In this case a spring clip on the control dials had popped out of line with the ratchets on those control dials so it wasnt terminal (this time).

MickH
04-10-2009, 02:27 PM
Stuart,

You maay have already read this: http://www.apug.org/forums/forum186/56467-horizon-s3-pro-panoramic-filmy-review.html

If not, there is a little discussion around the 202 & S3 lens quality.

Cheers.

doigal
04-13-2009, 05:21 PM
i own an S3pro and have zero problems with sharpness.

europanorama
07-06-2009, 11:40 PM
Having dropped my poor old Horizon 202 :(

I have managed to repair it so that it works, although the aperture and shutter speed controls are a little lose and some care is needed to select the correct setting. Even before this accident, I was using the hozizon enough to think about buying spare or backup camera. The problem I had was cosing between another 202 or go for 203 U500 which has the extra 1/500 shutter speed. I shoot mostly 400ASA for flexibility but was having problems on brighter days with not over exposing a little even on f16 and 1/250. And to be honest I find the damn filters so tricky to get in an out I can never be bothered.

However, I have heard there were problems with the S3 lens at certain apertures. I see on another thread the suggestion that the S3 lens be replaced with a 202 lens. Are these problems real? An urban myth? or something that was only in the earlier versions and fixed in later models? Rather than exacerbate any "myths/rumours" any direct experience or official information would be of interest before I make my decision and purchase. Regards Stuart.

1. filter- tricky? no!
i would read the manual. mount the filter the right way. a) to be able changing it when camera is cocked or uncocked.
use a second filter to remove it.
2. the lens problem is damned REAL. not sharp at fstop 16. see here:
http://www.pbase.com/europanorama/panoramic_camera&gcmd=add_comment
and in my forum:
http://forums.delphiforums.com/pancams/start

we cold only guess why there are 19 mio hits for horizon 202. i would put the 202-lens into s3pro and set to infinity. use close-up lenses to change distance. if using shim at filmrails one cannot use two closeup-lenses anymore. one would be too near then.