PDA

View Full Version : Using extension tubes with the Olympus OM series cameras.



Galah
07-23-2009, 08:47 PM
I have a question for all you OM users out there regarding metering while using extension tubes.

I have a set of genuine Olympus (brand) OM extension tubes.

These tubes do not permit open aperture metering (the stop-down mechanism is inoperative when using these tubes) and the diaphragm remains on whatever aperture is set on the aperture ring at the time (i.e. in the stopped down mode).

So, (with, say the OM2) when using these tubes with metering set on "Auto" it appears the viewfinder displays exactly the same exposure recommendation as you get by changing to "Manual" (for the same scene).

So, is that all there is to it?

I mean (say, with the OM2), if you simply have it on Auto (or Manual) you just take the TTL metering as read and release the shutter and exposure should be OK?

Or do you have to do some fancy exposure compensation or what?:confused:

Then, what about in the case of the OM2n,the OM2sp, or the OM10?

Advice welcomed.

archphoto
07-23-2009, 09:24 PM
You are measuring though the extension tubes and the lens, if the lens is stopped down the camera will show you what shutterspeed you need for a correct exposure, it is that simple.
On Auto the camera will choose the correct shutterspeed, no calculations or corrections needed as long as your object has a general density, so not (pure) white or (pure) black.

Peter

nsurit
07-23-2009, 10:30 PM
This isn't an answer to your question, however a set of auto extension tubes should be very cheap on eBay. Doesn't make any difference who made them. I have both Olympus and Vivitar and they both do the same job very well. Olympus cost more, Vivitar less. Be sure you get auto tubes. Bill Barber

Galah
07-26-2009, 06:38 PM
You are measuring though the extension tubes and the lens, if the lens is stopped down the camera will show you what shutterspeed you need for a correct exposure, it is that simple.
On Auto the camera will choose the correct shutterspeed, no calculations or corrections needed as long as your object has a general density, so not (pure) white or (pure) black.

Peter


Peter and nsurit,

Thank you both for responding:).

OK, I'm reassured and have been taking a few shots: seems just too easy!:D

I'll let you know how I got on, when the prints come back (still a few left to go on the roll).