PDA

View Full Version : Fotoman Darkslide Module



Reinhold
08-21-2009, 12:56 PM
Fotoman Darkslide Module

Swapping a lens on a Fotoman in mid-roll without wasting film is a hassle.
Working with a darkbag in hot sun or pouring rain is a pain.

So I made a darkslide module for my Fotoman 617...
Now I can change between my Schneider 80mm SS XL or my Fujinon 150 5.6 anytime I like.
Takes me about 30 seconds, out in bright sun or pouring rain.
No nasty words, no film wasted.
Ta Daaa....

Previously, I masked the camera for a 615 negative size, which I like better than 617.
(615 negatives can be enlarged on 4x5 enlargers).
See what I did in my TechBlog here...
http://www.classicbwphoto.com/Blog/E6DF1C66-A057-11DB-9BB1-000A95E8D0C0.html

Fotoman's are fun...

Reinhold

www.classicBWphoto.com

Larry Metza
08-22-2009, 07:31 PM
Reinhold,
Your darkslide module sounds like a GREAT improvement over the one major flaw of the Fotoman. I carry a darkbag and have never used it because of the major inconvenience so I end up using the whatever lens is on the camera for everything. Have you given any thought to marketing your module?

Reinhold
08-24-2009, 12:46 PM
Larry

I know what you mean about working with whatever lens is on the camera instead of changing to one that is better suited to the subject. Changing a lens is (was) awkward. But no more...

I dunno about marketing the module...
I'd have to invest in a CNC mill, which is an attractive idea...
Decisions, decisions; more camera toys or more machine tool toys???
Decisions, decisions...

It was fun making it, nevertheless.

Reinhold

Van Camper
02-06-2010, 10:46 PM
I like the idea, but I use 2 Fotomans to get around the problem, and my buddy has 3 Fotomans. With darkslides, you still have to change lenses.... the part I don't like. So I grab which camera I need, and shoot, like the old days of carrying two 35mm bodies. It's about convenience, if I needed another I would also have 3, but 2 is all I need.