PDA

View Full Version : Kentmere VC liquid emulsion

Casey Kidwell
10-09-2010, 10:41 AM
I apologize in advance if this question has been asked before, I couldn't find it. In the past I have used the Kentmere (formerly Luminos) emulsion and found that there is no equal in pre-made emulsions. Is there an equal product by another manufacturer and if not, what is the expense and learning curve (on a scale of 1-10) for a complete noob. I appreciate any help in this matter because my Kentmere supply is gone and I'm in mourning.

alexhill
10-10-2010, 06:08 PM
As far as a learning curve goes, it's going to depend on your chemistry background. With help from people on APUG and a alt photo book I was able to make a liquid emulsion. I like to describe it as baking bread with dangerous chemicals in the dark. If you can find a class to take, that will be a huge benefit to reducing the learning curve.

I'm just throwing in my 2 cents until PE or Denis chime come in here with helpful information.

Jerevan
10-11-2010, 02:03 AM
Check out www.thelightfarm.com (Denise runs this eminent resource) and see what you think about the complexity yourself.

Marco B
10-11-2010, 03:06 AM
Can't compare it with Kentmere VC liquid emulsion, but I have had some good results with Rollei/Maco Black Magic VC, which is the only LE I have tried, see picture. Emulsion is quite fragile though (probably an issue with all LEs), so watch the wet processing stage and don't over wash.

http://www.freestylephoto.biz/66152-Rollei-Maco-Black-Magic-Liquid-Emulsion-Variable-Contrast-300ml
http://www.maco-photo.de/files/images/Black_Magic_GB.pdf

http://www.apug.org/gallery1/files/4/4/3/7/dn3_144_le.jpg

Casey Kidwell
10-11-2010, 08:37 AM