PDA

View Full Version : Obtaining negatives from Elegante Wedding Photography, former Kodak franchise

ted_smith
07-21-2011, 03:31 AM
Hi

Back in 2002, before I was a serious photographer, I got married and used Elegante Wedding Photography (a Kodak franchise, I gather) to shoot our wedding.

When we ordered, they said they keep the negatives 'forever'. To be fair, we ordered the prints two years after we got married. In fairness, the pictures were fantastic. Anyway, they went bust in 2006 - I gather they were considered to be a bit of a plague in the wedding photography industry.

Anyway, my wife and I want to have one of the prints enlarged, nearly 10 years later!

Though the print looks great, and is a 10" x 8", knowing what I know now, I'd rather have an enlargement done from the negative.

Does anyone know if the negatives of weddings shot by Elegante Wedding Photography will still be available today? If so, from whom?

Many thanks

Ted

ted_smith
07-21-2011, 03:53 AM
Hold the phone!

I called Kodak Head Office on 01442 261122 and they were familiar with the issue and put me through to a very helpful chap called Chris Mayo at Kodak Ltd, Boundary Way, Hemel hempstead, HP2 7YU (01442 846674). They have all the negatives from Elegante Wedding Photography and for a 25 admin fee, they will retrieve the negatives from their massive archive and sign them over to me so I can have my own prints produced from my own lab whenever I want!

Fantastic and very unexpected news. I thought I'd post this for anyone else who seeks their old negatives if they were photographed by that particular Kodak franchise.

tomalophicon
07-21-2011, 04:20 AM
Great outcome there.

edp
07-21-2011, 04:24 AM
That is good news. Unfortunate abbreviation of this thread's title in the forum, though: "Obtaining negatives from the now bust Kodak"

Rick A
07-21-2011, 05:09 AM
That is great news indeed. If only life were that easy for everything else.

pentaxuser
07-21-2011, 08:50 AM