PDA

View Full Version : foma 100 stand development, rodinal or d-76?



pierods
07-26-2011, 03:50 AM
What would be the best developer for foma 100 stand developed?

pcyco
07-26-2011, 03:58 AM
hallo

i would say rodinal 1:100 for one hour

i dont think that d-76 is a developer for standdevelopment. (but maybe another one will know more about this)

--
thomas

edit found some times an dilutions http://www.photomalaysia.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1329858
its trix but as startpoint it should work

Rick A
07-26-2011, 05:34 AM
If those are your only choices, then definitly Rodinal.

pierods
07-26-2011, 06:14 AM
you would suggest other developers?

Rick A
07-26-2011, 06:52 AM
Pyrocat-HD is excellent for stand develpment, as well as normal developing. My question to you is why stand development.

pierods
07-26-2011, 07:32 AM
Hello Rick,

so I can switch the ISO setting on my camera on the same roll and still do 1 development.

markrewald
07-26-2011, 11:05 AM
Hello Rick,

so I can switch the ISO setting on my camera on the same roll and still do 1 development.

Have you varied the ISO greatly or just a stop up or stop down? I would be thrilled if I could do more then one stop at a time.

olleorama
07-26-2011, 11:25 AM
recommended steps:

1) get diafine 2) shoot at whatever EI you like

Diafine > rodinal

pierods
07-26-2011, 02:21 PM
markrewald: I have varied greatly

olleorama: unfortunately i don't like the look of diafine at any speed

Rick A
07-26-2011, 02:37 PM
markrewald: I have varied greatly

olleorama: unfortunately i don't like the look of diafine at any speed

Me either.

waynecrider
07-26-2011, 10:33 PM
FX2 (TFX2) is suppose to be an ideal stand developer. The formula which incorporates metol prevents speed loss, and glycin which inhibits streaking. It is an acutance developer and generally used with slow to medium speed films. If your looking to vary exposure on a roll within a stop or two, I've had luck with Diafine, but it's not the best developer for all films per se'. With Foma it might just be the ticket. It does last a long time and it's basically temp insensitive within a range which is nice.

Gerald C Koch
07-26-2011, 11:45 PM
Your post is not very detailed, is there a particular reason you need tonal compression?