Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,654   Posts: 1,481,321   Online: 1076

Shooter
    Multi Format

How does everyone store their vintage negatives?

Hi everyone. I'm really new to vintage film photography and just starting out with my first small collection of unmounted negatives & transparencies from the late '60s/early '70s. I have no idea how to store them so that is my main concern - to keep them in the same condition over a long period.

So I was just wondering how everyone stores and preserves their vintage film?

The ones that I have are 2 1/4" if that makes any sense. Thanks for any help!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    The usual storage method is probably archival sleeves (clear plastic) in an archival box. How are they stored at present?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin Caulfield View Post
    The usual storage method is probably archival sleeves (clear plastic) in an archival box. How are they stored at present?
    Thanks for your reply. They're in a storage box with a few other things to keep them away from dust/dirt. They're between a glassine sleeve at the moment, which is also inside a regular envelope (for a bit of added protection) and I put the envelope inside a regular plastic zip-lock bag.

I've heard Print File make great archival sleeves but I'm unsure of the right sized one to buy. They don't seem to have ones for 2 1/4" film (it's pretty small).

The archival box sound great and I will probably buy one if that's the best container to keep them in.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    You should be able to find sleeves for 2 1/4". It's also called "120".

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Welcome to APUG.