Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,908   Posts: 1,521,499   Online: 913

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Darlot projection lens questions

I recently discovered two Darlot projection lenses that go with my Magic Lantern projector. Here are my questions:

1. Is there anyway of using these on a 4x5?
    2. If I wanted to have a flange made for a lens board, how do you measure the threads etc.? Or is there a place that might have them?
    3. How do you know what the focal length and aperture are? (there is no aperture iris or waterhouse (?)
    4. Is this lens anything like (results) of an antique portrait lens?

I'm just learning about these things. I love the look I'm seeing with the tintypes & wet plates, and am wondering if that can be achieved with normal negatives when using a lens like this.

Thanks in advance!

Dorothy

Shooter
    Large Format Pan
    Images
    Jim Galli is proberly the one to ask (and he will proberly chime in soon).

take a look at his home page; there are a lot (or a dar Lot ) of images made with projektion lenses...)
    http://www.tonopahpictures.0catch.com/

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Dorothy,

Chances are the lantern lenses will work great on a 4x5 though they may be a little long to get the swirly bokeh. You need a short focal length lens to get that effect with a Petzval (which your Darlot lenses may be). The Petzval design has a cemented doublet lens in the front and a pair of air-spaced thinner lenses at the rear. Petzvals intended for a camera were cut for waterhouse stops, but to get the swirl, you want to use them wide open so no biggy.