Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,766   Posts: 1,484,147   Online: 813

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Nev
    Shooter
    Holga

Help with Antique Apertures

Might be a silly question, but I am new to older vintage cameras.

What vintage camera could I pick up for cheap that has a large aperture? Like f/4-f/2? They were made with such apertures back then correct?

Shooter
    35mm
    It might help if you specified the format you are interested in. With large format it isn't so much a question of camera as lens/shutter combinations. Most large format lenses that offer those kinds of apertures are "portrait" lenses, petzvals, projection lenses, etc. They offer wildly varying optical characteristics. Some can be in shutter, most are in barrel, necessitating a Packard shutter or other shutter method. The Speed Graphic camera has a focal plane shutter, which does away with the need for a Packard, but there is less lens selection for in 4x5 than 8x10, as 8x10 was a standard portrait format in the day. Most MF can easily be found with a 2.8-4, depending on focal length. Keep in mind that because the "normal" focal lengths of medium and large format cameras increase with size the apparent DOF becomes much less, so from a bokeh perspective a narrow focus effect is much easier to achieve with a larger format. For instance on 4x5 a portrait style lens might have a focal length of about 200mm, and that is the DOF the lens will deliver for a given stop, although the FOV will approximate perhaps a 70mm or some such on 35 (SWAG alert)

If it is about speed, well, it is what it is.
    Last edited by JBrunner; 03-11-2009 at 01:41 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Nev
    Shooter
    Holga
    interesting. hmmm.
    I was looking at the medium format folders that could use 120....

Shooter
    35mm
    Quote Originally Posted by Nev View Post