Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,889   Posts: 1,520,813   Online: 1160

Shooter
    Multi Format

Interesting places in Long Island?

I've been living in Manhattan for the past 2 years, and I'm finally ready to explore a bit more of the greater NY area. I'm interested in visiting Long Island, mostly because I've never been there and I don't know anything about it! Anyone have any advice on sights to see/photo?

I was considering Stonybrook, though a friend told me it would be difficult without a car, which I don't have since I'm a student in NY . This limits me to areas easily accessed with public transportation, and navigable by foot.

Any advice on areas that are interesting to you?

Thanks!

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Port Jefferson. End of the line; nice port about 15 minute walk from the station.

http://www.flickr.com/search/?w=8892...rt%20jefferson

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Port Jefferson
    Ahh, this looks pretty cool. Definitely under consideration. Also, great photos! Thanks!

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Public transportation is your problem - it is really limited on LI to RR stations ( or limited bus routes which take forever to get around.) Why not rent a car for a day? Compared to RR tickets it may not be that much more and would open up a lot more options. Also, the walk from the Port Jeff RR station is downhill to the harbor, the return trip is up hill and I doubt most people could do it in 15 minutes - what will you be carrying?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by sokrasins View Post
    I've been living in Manhattan for the past 2 years, and I'm finally ready to explore a bit more of the greater NY area. I'm interested in visiting Long Island, mostly because I've never been there and I don't know anything about it! Anyone have any advice on sights to see/photo?