Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,646   Posts: 1,481,263   Online: 761

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Did I ruin my mirror!?

Hello -

I am relatively new to photography and made the stupid mistake a few months ago of cleaning my mirror on a Nikon FE2 and a few lenses with my t-shirt while out taking photos one day. I didn't realize this could have done damage until I read a few threads on here which were stating how fragile the mirror is and that if it needs cleaned you should send it to a professional.

So do you think I've have ruined the mirror? How about the lenses? With the naked eye, everything appears ok, but I don't know.

Any feedback would be great.

Thanks

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    If everything seems OK, it is.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    I clean mine with soft cloths and pec pads. All is well.
    www.EASmithV.com

"The camera is an instrument that teaches people how to see without a camera."— Dorothea Lange
    http://www.flickr.com/easmithv/
    RIP Kodachrome

Shooter
    Multi Format
    lintless cotton is a good cleaner, although don't rub. Front surface mirrors like in an slr should be handled gently but if yours looks ok, it is ok, even if it were scratched it would still work just fine. The mirror surface doesn't effect image quality and a cupla scratches won't degrade what you see in the finder.

you should see the mirrors on some of my old exaktas....wow.

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Images
    It's not the surface of the mirror you need to be worried about the most, but the position of the mirror with regard to the ground glass - it needs to replicate what is going to film exactly (within a spec that is) - what good is an image that looks ok to the eye if it isn't the same image that is going to film ?