Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,766   Posts: 1,484,113   Online: 949

Shooter
    35mm

Help with Agfa Solinette II

Hello Everyone!

My wonderful father-in-law to be has allowed me to fix/use his uncle's Agfa Solinette 2. This is the oldest camera I have collected thus far and I am COMPLETELY NEW to camera repair. The focus ring was of course stuck, so we used some de-greaser (the kind in a spray can with straw) and it now moves (though not sure if this is was i was SUPPOSED to do....)

I wanted to make sure it was all gone and it looked like some of it may have gotten on the shutter blades, so I looked up ways to clean the shutter. I got as far as removing some of the front pieces and can now see some of the "innards" but am now totally at a loss as to what to do. I have no idea how to completely remove it, and not sure what I should use to clean it, how exactly to do this, and then what I need to do to it after it has been cleaned to make sure everything is in working order!

If anyone can offer any help it would be greatly appreciated! I took pictures of everything as I removed it (i'm not dummy!) so if I need to upload any of them let me know! i would really like to get this thing up and running. I ran a roll of film through last night just to get an idea of its status and waiting for it to be developed. Fixing this one up will go a long way in boosting my confidence so that I can start acquiring some of these older cameras knowing that i *might* be able to get them working for use, and not just for my shelf! I appreciate in advance any help! Thanks!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Take the shutter completely off the body, take all the glass out, rinse in naptha, air dry, check if it's clean, re assemble.

Yeah don't spray stuff in there again, it usually seeps in and make a bigger mess.
    - Derek