Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,765   Posts: 1,484,083   Online: 951

Shooter
    Multi Format

Quick (but not neccesarily dirty) monorail camera!

Hello!

I have decided to post how I made a simple monorail view camera for the (un)likely case that some youngster would like to use glue to join parts instead of sniffing it or to just give others some ideas how to do a simple yet functional camera. I am by no means a seasoned engineer or a camera maker but I'll describe my experience building this little thing.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_4352.jpg 
Views:	90 
Size:	292.3 KB 
ID:	71296
    Here is what the finished product looks like in my case.

Lets start with the rail! Some of you have perhaps noticed cheap macro rails from the east filling the auctions sites. Well, they are pretty versatile. I got my hands on a 260mm (if my memory is correct) rail that has a tripod thread on the topside too. Useful feature since you can flip the rail, use the upper thread (now lower) to mount it on a tripod and use the former bottom sliding thingy as the base for the lensboard (or rear standard, if you like the front to be stationary). I have seen monorails done by joining pieces of wood and using threaded rods and other trickery but this is ideal for the mechanically less able person.