Switch to English Language Passer en langue franÁaise Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,963   Posts: 1,523,275   Online: 1047

Thread: 7x17 Sinar

Shooter
    Multi Format

7x17 Sinar

All the talk recently about making film holders and other craftiness got me thinking (not always a good thing!). For a while now I have been wanting a 7x17 camera. They rarely show up used and the new ones are very expensive with a long wait to get them. Is it feasible to make a wood back and mount it on a Sinar F or P series camera? I guess I know that it is, but am wondering if I've overlooked anything. I use a 4x5 Sinar and already have many of the bits and pieces for another camera. I am a skilled woodworker-I used to own a small cabinet shop. My thought is to buy the film holders first and get all the relevant dimensions from them. I would have the bellows made by someone else; bellows making is not a skill I have the time or desire to learn. I have lots of well seasoned wood and access to a metalworking shop. All in all this seems like a fairly simple project, but I don't see many people doing this which worries me. So, am I crazy?

Richard

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    No... Why not... I'm in the same position. What I can't buy I make. If you have the desire, you can't go wrong. Especially if you take part of a setup and add to it. Get a holder and make a back and an extension and don't let anyone tell you it won't work. If you do run across a problem, just post it here. Someone will have had the problem too and will most often have found a solution. We are the community now. The development and design is with us for the most part because there aren't the Kodak's and Seneca's and Korona's being made anymore. It's a hybrid world. When the image comes out you'll be glad you did.
    Good luck
    Curt

Shooter
    ULarge Format
    Images