Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,699   Posts: 1,549,135   Online: 1153

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Kalart beam splitter problem :(

Hello friends,

today I tried to fix a deteriorated beam splitter - upper mirror in a rangefinder of my Speed Graphic. Well, I can't say I have my PhD degree in chemistry for nothing - I am quite successful at fully re-silvering the mirrors at my lab, as it was found out today, and the coating is strong and brilliant... but the half-silvered mirrors with 50% reflection are not coming out from my hands, period

Can't understand what to do to fix the problem - can't imagine where to get the mirror of right size in Russia How do you cope with the problem, friends?

Cheers,
    Zhenya

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Zhenya, go search around on www.graflex.org

Cheers,

Dan

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Fromm
    Zhenya, go search around on www.graflex.org

Cheers,

Dan
    Zhenya, I posted something on this topic earlier here. We don't resilver beam splitters, we go for the cheap and easy solution of buying a small piece of car window foil that is semi-transparant (driver can look out, no one can look in). I am sure with all the nouveau riche driving around Moskwa in their new limousines, this stuff should be widely available where you live too. If not, I can cut of a piece of the roll we have and send it to you. You stick this foil to the beam splitter and voila, you have something that gives enough of a ghost image to help you focussing. Or is this a kind of solution that goes against the grain of your PhD-d heart?

On an off-topic note: how much would you charge for resilvering mirrors? I bet you could make a nice bit of side-money off it. As a new APUG-service or something.....

Shooter
    Medium Format