Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,232   Posts: 1,532,897   Online: 952

Thread: advise on lens

Shooter
    35mm

advise on lens

Hi,
    I'm looking forward to constructing a homemade 4X5 view camera and would like to seek some advices regarding lens.

I have never tried a LF before so I'm not sure what the different focal length lens would do.
    My particular concern is that if I construct the LF to tilt and shift do I need lens with wider coverage than just 4X5. What would be enough for general use?

In addition, I realized that my budget (approx 50) is way too small to get any of the LF lens commonly found on e*ay.
    Is there any cheap lens that I can look out for?

I have seen kodak ektar going cheap but I found that its a press lens that can 'cover 4X5 with little movement.
    Can I use this lens on a bellow of a 4X5?

Lastly, if all fails can I use an enlarger lens instead? I have one 80mm componon lying around. I believe I would have to downsize the 4X5 ambition to 120 instead.

Thanks for patiently reading through my post. I know I lack loads of knowledge in this area but I hope to explore through this construction plans.

All suggestions and additional advises are deeply appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images