Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,940   Posts: 1,557,511   Online: 1029

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images

Removing a stuck retaining ring

I'm trying to open up a Canonet - either front or back - to fix a stuck shutter.

Neither the front or rear rings budge. I picked up a spanner kit from microtools with the hope that proper tools would help. No luck. I'm new at this so I tried removing the rings on a few other cameras just to be sure I wasn't making a mistake. They moved with little force so I don't think I'm missing anything basic.

I'm stopped when I realized that I was starting to strip the rings themselves. The camera is dead as it is but I want to step up the potentially destructive techniques slowly. I'm not looking to have the camera profesisonally CLA'd; I want to learn about this stuff and am saving the CLAs for higher end cameras.

Does anyone have tricks, suggestions or links with info they've found useful? I've looked around at solutions for a few days but haven't found anything yet. I haven't tried drilling yet (mostly lack of gear) but that is something I'm holding off on that for now.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Try a drop of 'Liquid Wrench' on the threads. Let it sit several hours, it should penetrate by capallary action. If this was a good camera, you would then have to clean it all off so it doesn't get into any other parts. It could affect lens coatings.
    Bruce

Moma don't take my Kodachrome away!
    Oops, Kodak just did!
    For all practical purposes, they've taken Kodak away.

BruceCSdunekPhotography.zenfolio.com

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I just recently tried liquid wrench on a trio of set screws on a lens barrel & it worked really well. better than mucking them up.
    Does the Canonet have the very narrow ring in the front, between the filter ring & decorator plate?