Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,296   Posts: 1,535,684   Online: 1013

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Why oh why.. Broken synchro-compur-p

Hi!

I'm new to LF and I've just bought my first crown graphic with a Schneider-Kreuznach Xenar 135mm f/4.7. I had Carol Flutot CLA it so the speeds were accurate etc, and she had done a very nice job with it so I don't blame her for anything.
    I picked it up from the customs the day before yesterday and I've just played around with it on the camera as I don't have any film yet and this morning I just put it to 1/500 and fired away just for the joy of hearing it when something awfull happened.. The shutter blades somehow cut into each other and two of them got small cuts in them and the three other got a bit bent!
    As I said it was recently CLAd and I've just fired it some 10-20 times just to check the speeds and practicing a bit with it. To my knowledge I've not done anything you'r not supposed to do with a LF lens so how could this happen? Old age or something? What should I do now, can it be repaired or what? I'll take some pictures of it later tonight or tomorrow morning, I'll just have to borrow my sisters Nikon D80 first.

/Jonas
    Last edited by klarifon; 08-05-2010 at 11:29 AM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Only thing I could think of is the shutter blades were reassembled incorrectly. There is usually an upturned tab on one (or more?) synchro-compur blades and if the upturned tab doesn't rest on top of the other blades when reassembled then I expect bad things could happen at higher speed. I kind of doubt Carol would make that kind of mistake though- also possible some dirt or metal shavings got in the blades that would wreck havoc too.

Shooter
    Multi Format