Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,578   Posts: 1,545,733   Online: 942

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Woodburytype process, lectures and publications

Hi all,
    I am a PhD researcher looking at continuous tone printing methodologies and I am very interested in the Woodburytype. I was unable to attend the APIS 2013 talks in October 2013 which was disappointing as I wanted to hear Barret Oliver talk about his collaboration in creating Woodburytypes with Chuck Close.

What I was wondering was, was there a publication that accompanied the talks or were any of the talks recorded?

I'd appreciate any help you could provide in this matter. I've read his (Barret Oliver's) book several times as well as many other historical and contemporary texts on the subject. I'm very keen to hear of recent attempts to re-introduce and revive the practice in all it's successes and failures.

Many thanks,

Pete

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images
    Peter,

I am not expert on the subject but I think that with the advancement of 3D Rapid Prototyping , Manufacturing techniques, someone would be able to order his masters. I read at Holland , they are taking stereo close up images of van gogh paintings , make a 3d model at computer than print with canon prisma color 3d printers. If they would be able to change the printer inks with original paints and find a way to map the 3 d structural map of transparent painting layers , they will be able to replicate the original painting , may be in 5 ,10 years time.

If you interest in new techniques , you can make a chapter in your thesis.

best,

Umut
    Last edited by Mustafa Umut Sarac; 03-21-2014 at 07:03 AM. Click to view previous post history.
    Can you please ask easier questions ? One Apug members request .

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images